Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Today the world is so dynamic.People are in a rat race to gain materiel comfort.In pursuit of develpoment the transportation plays a vital role.Having an efficient road and rail system is an essential factor for a country t develop economically.In this stance,some believe governments should only pay attention to on railways instead of roads.This essay will evaluate the pros and cons of this in detail.

Railway does have features which the road transport methods do not possess.First,at a time it can carry more number of passengers or a load of goods.For instance, it is a main method of transporting coal.On the other hand during rush hours many people use rail as office transportation mode. Second, people who use trains do not face the problem of traffic congestion.It has a start time and and end time so that anyone can plan work accordingly. Moreover, in terms of good transportation it trains can carry heavy loads and in turn reduce the traffic and accidents on main roads due to heavy duty vehicles.Provided that it has less accidents, it is better mode compared to road transportation. Therefore, it is true that this system should be develop for a country to benefit economically.

Nevertheless,there is a limit that rails can be construed in.There are number of by roads where people need access.Also,trains are scheduled for a time whereas people have their own time plans thus they need good road system built in to do daily activities.For example, in case of emergency reach out to a hospital, in case of a fire there should be efficient road network and speedy methods available. Also, in case of railway system breaks down at a particular time there should be an alternative way of travelling.Thus, it cannot be accepted the fact that only rail should be upgraded.

Considering both sides, I believe government should provide equal importance to both methods. They can develop trains as a more industrialized mode of transport and roads for other means such as a passenger transport mode.In that way ,both modes can be used more efficiently.