Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an ongoing controversy argument that whether governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. Some people think that road is more suitable than railways. However, in my opinion, I believe that spending money on railways can make more benefit than use it for roads for several reasons.

First, train is the cheaper way to travel the car or bus. People should get the valuable public transport with the minimum cost and the government should provide the sufficient support for people. Because a train can carry more than hundred people, it is one of the most economical transportation. For instance, in my country, the train cost only 5 pounds to travel from Bangkok to Chiangmai, compared to the bus, which cost 12 pounds. Clearly, the train is the low-price transportation than road vehicle, so the governments should invest on railways more to ensure that people in their countries get the reasonable public transportation.

Second, the railways system emit less pollution than the other transport in road system. Nowadays, most cars still need oil to make to possible move. Consequently, the carbon was produce a lot from the car engines, damaging the environment and harming the living creatures. In contrast, there are the train innovations that use other clean energy, such as electricity, to propel the train instead of oil. This innovation can reduce significant level of environment problems that humans are now facing. So the government ought to persuade people to use this clean technology by promoting the railways, rather than the roads.

In conclusion, investing on railways contributes more benefits on roads. It brings the cheaper way of transportation and cause less pollution to the environment. I believe that the world would be better if the governments invest more on the railways.