Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

As the international transport becomes more regular kind of activity, it can seem that government doesn't take into account the actual needs of the world population. Nowadays, there are serious dilemmas about the complex topic of infrastructure, especially regarding the construction of roads and railways in one country. The real question is whether the government should contribute more to the railway construction or, totally opposite, to the roads development. In my personal opinion, it should be the investment in roads.

First of all, let us consider the advantages of roads in international transport. The main advantage of roads in international transport is availability for anyone who prefer this kind of connection. Roads are adaptable for cars, trucks, buses and it is a long-established belief that highways connect countries in the closer manner. If the government invest in roads, people will be able to sit in their vehicles and reach a destination in own pace. Secondly, the most public organs still seek the opportunity to remind of the roads importance in the worlds communication. Take the road Belgrade - Nis - Pristina as the future example. For most of Europeans, this Balkan route will be the best way to reach the coast and, for the rest, it would be the ideal economic route.

Turning to the railways, it must be seen that this kind of transport enjoys popularity between various groups of people. On the one hand, we can see that those who prefer tourist travelling usually take advantage of railways. At the same time, economy related transport, export and import branches are not railway concentrated. It should be the reason why governments will need to invest more money in roads rather than in railways construction.

To try and conclude then, roads are famous for the bunch of benefits and it would be clearly backwarding if the government disregard this potential. As an economic sector and international commerce become the matter of government choice, there would be no more rewarding solutions than to bring more roads to life.