Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Undoubtedly, traffic congestion and high levels of pollution are an essential problems of the current century which we face in our daily life. Therefore, some people believe that in order to solve these problems, the price of petrol should be raised. In my opinion, raising the price of petrol is not the best way to rectify these problems, but it can help to reduce them.

Firstly, the higher price of gas may lead individuals to by less vehicles which assist to reduce traffic congestion. Notwithstanding that this solution is assisting in reducing traffic congestion, the problem still exist, due to substantial proportion of people use their private cars for daily commuting, as it is more comfortable. Secondly, the emission of carbon dioxide would be increase because many people prefer to use their cars. As a result, the level of pollution will be increased.

On the other hand, there are effective solutions to overcome traffic and pollution problems. Environmentally friendly source of energy could be used instead of petrol in order to reduce the high level of pollution. For example, the government should encourage individuals to buy electricity cars by building roads to suit these cars. Another effective way to solve traffic congestion which is moving companies from residence places to specific area that are only for work. Accordingly, the traffic during the peak hour would be decreased.

In conclusion, I disagree with increasing the price of petrol. However, I think that using environmentally friendly source of energy is one of many approaches that could solve the pollution problems. The role of the government to find an effective way to solve traffic problem cannot be overlooked.