Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

There is a recommendation that the rising fuel price would deter the growing congestion and pollution problems. For the following reason, I will give this claim a qualified yes.

Since oil was discovered and become the most important material of daily living, it occurs numerous traffic and environmental problems. The commonplace of motorcycles and vehicles has not only severed the congestion but also increased the emission of gasses. In order to undermine these problems, the direct way is to increase the toll of using these tools. Because of the rising price, the citizen would choose the alternative way, such as taking the republic transportation and walking. Besides minimizing the chances of driving, they are equally beneficial for health.

However, the augment of petrol could soar the cost of living. Given the salaries are stable, the rising petrol price would definitely be the burden of those people or industries who need to drive. The transporting industries, the tourism industries, and the taxi industries, for instance. Moreover, the high petrol price also influences the republic transportation. The swelling cost would eventually be the responsibility of the customers. People have to pay more for these facilities, and that, therefore, provokes the complaint.

I believe that the development of eco-knowledge is more important. The government could promulgate the shortage of driving and encourage citizen to take public transportation and walk. In Taiwan, the government set up the bicycle on the road. By the dissembling of the advantage of cycling, riding the bike now becomes the popular outdoor activity in Taiwan. This not only undercuts the problems of traffic and pollution but also advances the consensus of green earth.

In conclusion, rising petrol price could prevent the using of own vehicles, yet the ramifications are estimable. By the education of environmental protection, people would be more willing to limit their personal behavior.