Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

A growing number of people believe that pushing up the price of petrol can remain one of the most effective steps to deal with traffic congestions and environmental pollutions. I am totally in favour of this idea. This essay will support my opinion with examples and present two different measures to address the problems as mentioned.

On the one hand, proponents believe that raising the price of petroleum tend to deter the majority of drivers running their vehicles particularly the cars, which actually constitute nearly two-thirds of total automobiles, and also release a large proportion of toxic gases such as carbon dioxide, hydrocarbons in the atmospheres. People are likely to be discouraged secondary to the high prices as this type of change generally dooms people to choose alternative forms of transportations like riding bikes and taking foots. Therefore, this strategy proves how overcrowding of carriers and environmental pollutions may be addressed effectively.

Apart from that, governments should levy taxes and build separate lanes for bikes so that the drivers would be compelled either to use public transportations such as electric trains, buses and so on or bicycles, which typically play crucial roles by decreasing the traffic congestions and its harmful emissions. In addition, overcrowding issues would solve readily if rulers improved infrastructures by building fly overs, bridges and the respective lanes. And recently, an engine efficiency has been steadily improved with upgrade engine designs like placement of a catalytic converter in exhaust pumps of automobiles that would convert very dangerous gases namely nitrous oxide and carbon dioxide to less toxic gases. So, authorities ought to allocate some percentages of national budget to such technology to prevent pristine atmospheres from being contaminated by the exhaust gases.

To conclude, increasing prices, imposing fines and expanding roads make decisive steps to deal with traffic jams and surrounding pollutions.