Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home leisure and work activities To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages

Internet, one of the greatest inventions in modern ages, has been altering our lives in different sides. Some people suggest that these technologies are actually invading our life and causing lots of drawbacks. On the contrary to these opinions is my perspective that the advantages brought by these inventions are certainly significant, contributing to personal skills and life.

What is worth to be discussed is that it is beneficial to individuals’ skills, in terms of practical and social aspects. Initially, Internet world contains tremendous number of knowledges, far more than those on traditional textbooks. To be more specific, these skills and knowledges can be found using the function of search engine in the web. Students or workers, thus, can gain extra understanding; however, without such extraordinary function, people might have to spend the whole day in the library without getting the books they want. Furthermore, with the aid of the Internet, our social circle can be expanded further. In detail, by meeting and knowing more people by using different social media platform, it would be easier to make more friends and broaden our horizons; in contrast, it is unlikely to meet extra people if information technology does not exist.

Another evident advantage is that the technology is contributing to human life, in the form of time and money. First, being available everywhere in the Internet, huge amount of data and knowledge can be easily accessed by just few clicks, instead of searching a particular file in a physical database. Not just efforts, but more importantly, time can be saved. In addition, financial resource is more likely to be reduced with the help of Internet. Rather than gathering personal data on the street, the efficiency is much higher by using online survey, calculating answers and presenting results rapidly. The organisation, consequently, will be able to know better of their business strategies, enhancing future performance; yet, additional resources are required if using traditional method to manage the business.

Technology, fundamental to the advancement of our society, are definitely beneficial, in terms of personal attributes and our life. Although there might be some minor drawbacks, they can still be minimised and reduced under suitable control.