The internet is viewed as an excellent means of communication by many However there are some who would argue that it is actually destroying our communication skills Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is believed by many that, the internet is the best way of communication, while there are others who are of the view that the communication skills of the society is being damaged due to use of Internet. I find it more logical to endorse the latter view, the reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay after evaluating both the views.

Firstly, one of the main reason why some people have a positive attitude towards Internet is that, it allow people to stay connected with their family loved ones. Today we are living in a society where families are not close to each other, most of them are scattered all the world due to various reasons. So in these cases the Internet can play a key role in maintaining the bond between friends and family, by helping us to communicate with each other. For example, a recent survey found out that majority of people around fhe world are calling their overseas family members through Internet. Moreover, tools like Skype facilitates virtual connectivity among colleagues helping in accomplishing professional tasks.

However, I believe that the internet is destroying our communication skills. This is because when people use the Internet, communication mainly takes part through chatting and e-mails. Verbal communication is comparitevely low during these times. This undermines their interpersonal skills because these people find it more easy to chat with their online friends rather than spending some quality time with their family and friends. For instance, a study conducted in 2015 shows that majority of children are experts chatting, but their linguistic skills are below average and this is because of the overuse of Internet. So it is evident that Internet can destroy our communication skills.

In conclusion, although communication thorough Internet has many benefits, I believe that the use should be limited because the chance of verbal communication is very rare and this inturn affects the interpersonal skill of a person.