It is generally agreed that society benefits from the work of its members. Compare the contributions of artists to society with the contributions of scientists to society. Which type of contribution do you think is more valued by your society? Give specific reasons to support your answer.

It is true that artists and scientists are playing valuable and irreplaceable roles in terms of contribution to our society. Artists keep people’s spirit alive and scientists impact on their physical lives, however, I believe that scientist’s contribution would be valued more in my society.

The contributions of artists to the society are very essential. Firstly, artists use creativity and explore different ways of perceiving, art makes life potentially more rich and more profound because it consider aspects of human life such as personal experience, social structures, spirituality, and perception. Furthermore, art can form person’s spiritual sense, their views, morality, spirit and personalities. For example, these art works help people release their stress or give comforts to people in their house or in the galleries. In addition, it is true that their art works are used to cultivate our mind, even though they sometimes inspire people to have different perspectives of different topics. For instance, we also watch movies that entertain and at the same time extend our range of interests.

In contrast, scientists are under constant effort to bring comfort to our life. Through new inventions, they aid society in overcoming the obstacles and challenges faced by their counterparts. Through scientists, we are able to achieve longevity, excellent discoveries avail us with new forms of energy, scientists come up with new ideas to improve our quality of life, almost every day. In addition to this, scientists are behind experiments and research to eliminate all possible threats from our society. Meanwhile, almost all huge machines to tiny kitchen equipment that we use in our daily life have a scientist’s effort behind. For example, we have internet where we can access to the immense source of knowledge or variety of medicines helps to cure many types of disease and prolong our lives.

In addition, I believe that even though the contributions of artists are important for our mental and emotional health, the contributions of scientists are more valued by my society. In my society, people give more attention to their physical health, and discoveries of new medicines and vaccines have cured people from the diseases such as chicken pox, measles, polio and malaria. Scientists have found medicine for ailments such as AIDs and cancers. Scientific contribution has saved many people from dying due to these diseases. Hence, scientists are rewarded more by my society.

In conclusion, an artist acts as a source of inspiration and information, whereas a scientist works as a source of innovations and inventions. Although artists also contribute much to the society and makes our society a better place to live, yet from our real life it seems that the contributions of scientists are valued more.