It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is believed that punishment is the best way to help the children to differentiate between good and bad. I agree with the mentioned statement. However, the choice of punishment should be constructive rather than destructive. In the following essay, we will discuss the positive impact of punishment on the behaviour and different types to maximise the psychological health.

Firstly, it is the human nature to refrain from doing an act that he was punished before in the life. The fear of getting scolded or even beaten prevents the young from repeating the same things. For example, if a child has been scolded for punishing, he will think about it twice when doing it again. Similarly, a child’s mind is not mature enough to foresee the future consequences of certain acts. Parents in such cases find it difficult to explain the future effects. Punishment in such circumstances helps to prevent them doing the bad acts. For instance, youth may ignore the health outcomes of smoking but the fear of confrontation with parent forces them to think twice before doing so.

On the other hand, the punishment should have a learning perspective. Spending extra time in a productive way will have a better, long-term and positive outcome. For instance, community services like cleaning or helping out in the school library are far better options than a physical beating. Moreover, the children can be given a task to read informative books. This will enlighten their minds and will have an everlasting psychological benefit.

In conclusion, the punishment is without a doubt, an essential aspect of child's upbringing provided that it is done in a productive manner. I agree with the topic. In future, the government needs to formulate laws against the physical assault and to create awareness among masses.