It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Children are at such age of their life when they merely distinguish between the right and the wrong. It is very necessary for parents and teachers to teach them the same, first, by suggestion or advice followed by punishment as many times their inexperienced mind tempt them to do mistakes. Punishment should not affect a child negatively; rather it must be constructive for them.

Nowadays children are most vulnerable to get affected by surroundings and electronic media as they easily get exposed to such media. It is impossible to protect them getting exposed to the external environment. Hence it is mandatory for parents or teachers to make them aware of morality and injustice at this age and sometimes punishment is necessary to protect them. At an early age, a child possesses boundless curiosity as he is just exposed to an outside world or society. Thus they imitate what they see and that turns out to be disastrous at times. To avoid that minor punishment is the best way as fear of punishment makes them stay away from many wrong doings. To prove that, the Stanford university had done many surveys on children and the results show that 80% children who had already been punished for their particular mistakes had not repeated the same, on a flip side only 40% who are just advised.

On the other hand, punishments should always be associated with some lesson for children. Punishment must be fruitful and it must not be physically or mentally harmful. For example, world's nursery in Japan asks children to plant trees as a punishment. Many schools in India punish children by asking them to run few kilometres. Such punishments are constructive for children's health and society as well.

To conclude, I believe that children have to learn about positives and negatives at this age and punishment is one of the effective ways to guide them learn this distinction. However, parents and teachers must use constructive and positive punishments to show them the right path.