It is more important for children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that It is more important for young children to study the history of their own countries rather than world history. Personally, I think that the roles of the local and national history are equally significant.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why schools should teach students about the past of their countries. Firstly, knowing about the local history will foster a sense of belonging and pride in each kid. For example, by studying how earlier generations fight and sacrifice for the freedom of the country, youngsters will more appreciate the liberty that they enjoy today. Secondly, through every lesson that children learn from school, they will figure out the human values of their motherlands. As a result, these youngsters will gain the deeper understanding of each traditional event and be motivated to carry on the best customs

On the other hand, the value of understanding world history must not be underestimated. The modern trend towards globalization demands the need for children to know about other nations. Thus, it will be easier for them to form a mutual understanding when they have the knowledge about the origins and past development of people across the world. Another factor is that national historical events provide children with an overview of the relationship of nations which will help youngsters when it comes to global business