it is more important for governments to spend public funds on promoting a healthy lifestyle than treatment. Do you agree or disagree?

The world health care system has been facing an enormous pressure due to frequent outbreaks of diseases. Some people believe that governments should allocate more money to educate people about healthy lifestyle rather than treatment. I strongly accord with this statement.

To begin with, there goes a saying “an ounce of prevent is worth a pound of cure”. This means the precaution is conclusively more important than treatment. Economically speaking, medical fee for a single individual can amount up to millions of dollars which is out of reach of many people, especially the poor. It would be wiser that Government, instead of devoting a substantial amount of money to covering medical fee, might launch public campaigns to teach people how to steer clear from diseases. Compared to the former approach, promoting healthy lifestyle proves to be cost-effective and more widespread. In addition, through national and local awareness enhancement campaigns, people can be equipped with well-rounded information of potential health risks associated with bad habits. In the long run, people are imbued with the idea that prevention being superior to treatment.

Equally important, the outbreak of diseases has become unpredictable. There are ample extraordinary epidemics that professional doctors have not yet found the measures to avert their detrimental effects or at least slow down them. For example, Zika virus has taken millions of innocent people’s lives just for several months and if this case continuously spread out, the mankind might be threatened. Therefore, strengthen people’s immune system is the most vital principle that people have to bear in mind.

In conclusion, heightening the level of public awareness is of paramount importance that governments have to prioritize, however, they also cannot neglect its concert on the supply of medical treatment.