For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

Nowadays, It seems that art is no longer having a central place in the international culture while other subjects such as science, technology, and business appear to be more developed. Personally, I think, that it mainly comes from the changes that occurred in our society and that different ways have to be settled to protect art as part of our culture.

The main reason why I think that the importance of art has shrunk is that today many people pay more intention on things that matter in term of money. Consequently, fewer people feel the desire to be an artist as the income of an artist is often low, for example, an artist might have difficulties to pay his bills because living out of art is hard and take time. Moreover, I believe that the social memes have changed with the society because parents nowadays are encouraging their child to get more interest in science and not in art because it offers more work opportunities, thus, children are less interesting by art.

I thoroughly believe that art should not be put apart as it is part of our historical and cultural heritage, thus, both individuals and government have to enhance the situation. Indeed, the government as a figurehead should draw people’s attention and encourage artists through the creation of free events, for example, free expositions, art festivals… Finally, parents should hand down the culture of art by bringing their children to visit art museums and learn more about art history.

In conclusion, I thoroughly believe that because success is today measured in monetary benefits, fewer people are interested in art. However, I think that it has an important place either in term of history, culture, and creativity which is the reason why governments have to subvention artist and events while people should keep our inheritance.