The main aim of advertising campaign is to increase sales of a certain product, but people don’t really need it. To what extent you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

There is no escape from the fact that the advertisement campaign’s profound purpose is to stimulate more people to buy a specific product. Although it might seem that this industry encourages people to buy the equipment that they do not need, I personally am of the opinion that these advertisements could be considered as a didactic approach to make each member of society familiar with his unrecognized needs.

On one hand, I understand why some people believe that the advertisement campaign feeds the society with irrelevent information. Every day all of us are being bombarded with a myriad of advertisement which are not of our interest. For example a person already possessing a state of the art mobile phone may receive an advert about another model of digital phone which brings about fewer functionalities compared to the one that he already has. These types of general purpose adverts, if perpetuated to excess would disturb a vast majority of citizens, despite the fact that some may benefit from those advertisements.

On the other hand, however, I would side with those who believe that advertisement campaign has some boons in its favor. Firstly, regarding the advent of new technology industry, scientists in different fields are trying to enhance the people’s life style to become more fruitful for all members of society. For Instance, the new brand apple devices bring about a great deal of new experiences that people cannot even imagine. Advert for such products not only are beneficial for people but also would foster a society’s standard of living, although seeming to be irrelevant from some individual’s point of view. Secondly, these types of campaign are beneficial since they equip members of a society with a more well-rounded perspective on latest technologies.

By way of conclusion, I disagree that advertisement campaign do not bring about any advantages to the people.