In many countries people are concerned about the number of children who are overweight. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Child obesity is growing concern for many parts of the world. There are various reasons for this issue and the parental and governmental support would be required to solve this issue.

Children became fat because of unhealthy eating habits. Many households have bad eating habits and these can pass down to their children to form such habit. For example, majority of American had consumed junk food frequently in 2000s and as a result, nowadays many households are consuming junk foods as a regular meal which resulting in youth obesity.

Furthermore, nowadays, children have lesser time playing outdoors or conducting regular exercises. Since children are addicted to the comfortable modern lifestyles, they do not feel necessary to participate doing exercises. For instance, modern children are spent vast amount of time playing with their computers and mobile phones as a part of their leisure activities.

To solve this issue, parental guidance and supervision seems to be required. By setting the certain time frames to play on electronic devices and play outdoors can be helpful to children to reduce their weights. Also, parents can control over children’s eating habits to reduce the junk food intakes.

Another approach can be used to help child obesity is from the government. By restricting the hours of junk food restaurants’ selling foods to children can reduce the obesity rates significantly. In the case of Australian fast food restaurants such as McDonalds, cannot serve students during and before the dinner time as it is under the government policies. As a result of this, the weight of Australian children has reduced.

In conclusion, there are an increasing number of children who are overweighted around the globe. Unhealthy eating habits and lesser time doing exercises are considered as the primary reason for youth obesity. Therefore, the parents and the government’s help would be sought to solve this issue.