In many countries people tend to move overseas or move to a different part of their country after their retirement. Discuss why they do so and what the outcome of this situation is. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It is true that there is a tendency among people of retirement age towards living in different places and countries rather than their habitual home. Reasons for this vary, and it would result in some issues.

The main reason why a number of people of retirement age choose to change their places to another region is that they want to experience a new lifestyle. Working adults often spend decades of their lifetime staying in the same city as their jobs’ requirements and the fact that their children need a stable environment. Over the years they might feel their lives mundane and predictable. Therefore, after they retire and no longer have to shoulder the responsibility of parenting, they have free time of their own and many choose to discover a new life in a new place that different from what they used to live for a long time. For example, my uncle, who is now one year away from his retirement, is eagerly planning his move to Dalat - a highland area to the South of Vietnam – as the tranquil pace of life there is more suitable for him than the busy life he now has in Hanoi.

One outcome the aforementioned trend might bring is that it would lighten the liability to take care the elder in some regions but exacerbate the overload of health care systems in some other areas. As mentioned above, Dalat seems to be an ideal place for the elder, but it at the same time is confronted by the issue of overloaded health care centres. In case people move to other countries, the issue of an outward flow of money could emerge. Since when people move to another country, they cause an outflow of assets and capital which is considered a factor that weakens the national economy.

In conclusion, many people choose to move to different places after their retirement in order to change their ordinary lifestyle and this may lead to a number of problem such as the imbalance of between demand and supply of healthcare system or the outflow of nation’s wealth.