In many countries, schools have several problems with students’ behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Schools in several countries have major issues with the way students behave. Increase use of psychoactive substance among teenagers and the controversial view of discipline are the two main causes of this problem, while the most viable solution is changing the orientation of the public on this issues through public awareness.‎

Firstly, teenagers today are more accessible to hard drugs than ever. As a result of taking these mind-altering drugs, majority of them develop behavioral disorders and become rebellious, aggressive and sociopathic, and these are some of the inappropriate behaviour that many schools have hard time dealing with. For example, research has shown that cannabis increases the rate of aggression in a person. Secondly, many do not have a wholesome view of discipline. Some believe that punishing a child would negatively affect the child in later years, hence many schools avoid disciplining an offending students. The consequences of this trend is that a lot of children repeatedly commit crimes in school being fully aware that there are no corrective measures in place for them. This behaviour takes a toll on the school.

The most effective solution to this problem is changing the society's orientation through public awareness. Students should be educated enough on the dangers of the use of psychoactive substance. Having this knowledge, would help them avoid these behaviour-altering-drugs. Also, the benefits of enforcing laws by punishing offending minors should be highlighted to parents and school authorities as this would go a long way in correcting this problem. For instance, research has proven the fruitfulness of similar public awareness campaign.

In conclusion, schools in many parts of the world have issues dealing with students behaviour. The identified causes to this problem are the prevalent use of hard drugs among minors and the public unwholesome view of discipline, while public awareness is the most viable way of correcting this problem