In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment.

What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

Unemployment rate is one of the big concerns in the development of a country. Nowadays, the unemployment of high-educated students has been increasing and this seems to be an increasingly common trend in several nations. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency and I would like to give some solutions for this urgent problem.

The phenomenon can be attributable to two principal factors. Firstly, the academic knowledge that high-educated graduates gained from school does not well fit into the practical tasks at work. For example, a university student is trained to do a scientific research while he is required to write about customers’ feeling or sell product as many as he can at work. Thus, he fails to do the tasks and quite the job. Secondly, the job benefits do not meet the applicants’ expectation. Fresh graduates from university tend to have high expectation to what they will gain from the jobs. They eventually get disappointed of the jobs’ benefits that the majority of employers offer to a freshman. For instance, many Vietnamese graduates are seeking a job which has an international environment, well-paid salary, and have chance to travel around the world. However, the so-called job is so limited that a mere of people can get so that graduate students become unemployed.

To solve this problem, the school should work tightly with the employer to understand their demand so that the school can design the well useful programs. Moreover, school or academic institutes and companies can cooperate to create some empirical courses for student to experience the working environment. On the other hand, company’s human resource division and the school can together organize more job fairs for seeking to the potential candidates. In the side of high-educated graduates who are not satisfied with any employer’s condition can set up their own business. By doing this, they also can create more jobs for other people.

In conclusion, the increase of unemployment rate among high educated graduates is an urgent problem in a vast of countries these days. In my point of view, the situation can be solved by the cooperation between school and labor user or by the graduates' own ways.