Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Despite having had punishment, a vast majority of ex-convicts are likely to recommit crime. There are several underlying causes associated with this problem which will be discussed, along with some practical measurement to address this issue.

It is assumed that main factor leading to being engaged in criminal are poverty, unemployment and lack of sufficient education. Due to having criminal record, it is not acceptable for employer to hire a person imprisoning before. As a consequence, ex-convicts find it difficult to make a living and inevitably get involve again in unlawful activities to meet their basic needs. Moreover, current prison system can make the situation worse. Keeping with various types of lawbreakers, offenders are more likely to be influenced by others having violent behavior. For example, prisoners carrying out the petty crime like pick pocketing are being hold near those getting involved in the serious crime such as smuggling. As a result, their criminal intention is going to be strengthened even after releasing.

The main responsibility of solving this problem should be shouldered by the government. First of all, it is necessary to provide rehabilitation programs including vocational training and education. Having lucrative skills such as plumbing and welding just to name, they will be deterred to perpetrate crime again. In addition, developing a deeper understanding of correct moral behavior in prisoners can be considered to be a deterrent of recommitting in the future. As well as, supporting them when they are looking for accommodation and work is another measurement. This will give them a sense of satisfaction to correct their way of life and change to a law-abiding citizen when they release into society.

To sum up, although there are various contributing factors to motivate ex-criminals to recommit crime, this problem can be tackled provided that the government takes it into account.