Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

According to many government officials, economic development is the crucial step in achieving success of a nation although others argue that there are several other aspects of development which need to highlighted as well. Although I think a country needs peace and tranquility as well as support of bordering countries in order to become a successful state, without financial stability everything will become a moot point.

With a balanced economy, a government can provide for each and every need of the citizens of a country. Gaining economic progress means no one lives under the poverty line which implies everybody gets a healthy and active lifestyle. Consequently, the price of daily necessities will be affordable to everyone. Moreover, the unemployment rate will be dropped and the rate of self-employment will hike up as well. As a result, the the income per capita will increase. In addition, the nation would not have to ask for funding from other richer nations in time of needs like natural disasters but rather give a helping hand. For example, a relatively small territory in Asia, Bangladesh has come a long way since its independence by focusing on gaining economic security.

On the other hand, a country needs to use all its resources accurately in order to be known to the world. For example, Hawaii, an small state of the USA, has gain global recognition by utilizing the exquisite nature of the island and exciting culture. Neighbouring countries can help in prosper as well. Egypt, an relatively affluent land in the past, lost all her glory as a result of ignoring the peace it had with the adjunct communities. However, if a war break out, many of these countries will be immediately under attack as they lack financial progress and there is a chance no other state would provide a helping hand to them as well.

In conclusion, education, nature and a good friendship will certainly help a country to become progressive but nothing will be regarded as a success if it fails in getting economic progress.