Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of Sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree ?

In the contemporary society, an increasing number of food items contain sugar in high amounts which may lead to several health issues such as obesity, diabetes, heart disease etc., in the future. Although people suggest that escalating the prices of these products will motivate the consumers to take on diets with low sugar, I disagree with the notion and the following essay will put forth my viewpoint.

To begin with, there are several factors contributing to the addiction of sugary products. Their delectable taste and flavor causes customers to become addicted to these items. Moreover, the competition between companies to attract customers by advertising these items have a profound impact on society. As a consequence of consuming these products loaded with sugar, consumers not only become obesity but also face difficulties in focusing due to the sugar rush in the blood.

In fact, simply raising the prices will have no impact on those attracted toward sugary items. As people work and earn, they will be able to afford these items irrespective of the cost of the item. For instance, a pack of string sweets which contains a handful of chewy strings cost equals to a 10kg pack of rice and people still purchase them. Furthermore, companies will refrain from raising the costs beyond a certain range and risk losing valuable customers. In addition, pushing people to suddenly quit these items may cause a withdrawal reaction and end up working the other way round.

To sum up, although there are multiple side effects of consuming food and drinks with high sugar contents, raising their prices may not be a plausible solution and may result in a reverse reaction and the companies might not be in support of the notion due to risks of losing customers.