Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

A large number of foods and beverages are produced with high levels of sugar, which leads to numerous problems involving health. Hence, it is argued that these products should be raised in cost in order to lessen the consumption of sugar by people. I personally agree with this statement because some benefits are offered.

To begin with, this method would create a chance for people to change their habits. Particularly, if sugary products are more expensive, people who can not afford the costs may have to find alternatives that are cheaper. For example, when different types of soft drinks such as Coca-Cola, Pepsi and so on have higher prices than other healthy drinks, people would choose the latter with the aim of saving money. As a result, they could cut down on the level of sugar consumed, and avoid suffering from several health problems like hypertension or diabete.

However, some people claim that this solution will not bring considerable impacts on customers. They may believe that these days, people have a higher quality of life, and an increase in the cost of sugary products is too small to change their eating habits. But, I completely advocate the idea of making these goods more expensive as it not only influences customers but also has impacts on manufacturers. To be specific, a higher cost of sugary refreshments would lead to a decrease in selled products and further, a reduction in companies’ profits. Therefore, the manufacturers could divert their attention to healthier foods and drinks. For instance, a business specialising in juices that contain high levels of sugar may focus more on freshwater or non-sugar beverages if they provide more revenues. Clearly, customers would have less choices and drink more healthy drinks.

In conclusion, sugary products are harmful to people’s well-being and higher prices should be charged so as to help people change their eating habits and encourage manufacturers to divert their main business line.