Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that tourists from any parts of the world will be effortlessly drawn to visit museums and historical places than the locals. Some explainations for this trend will be pointed out and imperative measures which should be taken by the government in order to address this situation will be constructively discussed in this essay.

There are two reasons why museums and historical sites fail to address the attention of local people, namely its unchanging features and services and its expensive entrance fee. As strict preservation rules are applied to remain their original features such as architecture or ornaments, there is no novel decoration or services since establishment. Local people living their entire life in this sites may hear all about the constant spectacular features in these sites from their family members, friends, or colleagues who visited before, thereby, they lose their interest of paying a visit to these places. Another barrier which hinders local people from going to see museums and historical places in their neighbourhood is the costly entrance fee. Culture Museum is the must-visit place in the northern of Vietnam, for example, fails to attract local people since they are living in dire living standard which they find difficult to sustain their life let alone paying money for these places.

Government should address the situation of the disinterest of local people towards visiting museums and historical sites by adopting two direct measures. First, preservation is associated with refreshment of exhibition display and services, hereby,it will draw the attention of local people within these places. Second, financial support should be given to visitors which relieve the pressure of extra money on visiting these places. By doing so, local people are incentive to visit the landmarks in their neighbourhood without waring monetary issue.

In conclusion, it seems to me that familiar features and costly fee for entrance disinterest local people to visit museum and historical places. Therefore, with an aim to attract more local visitors, government should innovate these places and reduce the entrance cost.