Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to handle this problem?

For government, it always plays in the priority role to reduce the crime rate. However, many crime are committed by people who had been first punished before. Why those criminals start to reoffend after leaving prison? And what measures could governments do to decline this possibility? This essay will discuss both questions.

The first reason for why criminals reoffend is that they cannot reintegrate into society after spending long time in prison. Many criminals are isolated and it is impossible for them to know what had happened outside the prison, especially when they are sentenced to a long time imprisonment. And after leaving prison, they not only have no skills to make a living but also feel incompatible with modern society, therefore it is too easy for them to slide into crime once again. Moreover, people’s prejudice against criminals make it easy for them to recommit crime. Public always tend to suspect people who have made mistakes, which increases negative emotion to them. Some irritable person is highly likely to commit a crime again if he or she is isolated or shamed.

There are various measures that can effectively to deal with this issue. Firstly, it is important to ensure that all criminals are given a chance of training which can help them get a job after leaving prison. Also, it is necessary to supervise those released criminals so that the government can give assistance when necessary. These solutions can prevent those people crime again.

In conclusion, it is important to let criminals return to society and also capable to earn money which is enough to raise themselves. I believe it can decrease reoffend and crime rate will soon drop.