Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There would be a tendency that numerous criminals woul commit more crimes again although crime prevention programs, community revitalization strategies and rehabilitation programs are offered in order to intervene effectively in the cycle of recidivism. This essay will discuss the biggest reason causing this phenomenon and then an efficient solution can be sumitted as the most viable.

The major cause of repeat offender is unemployment after being put behind bars. Obviously, there is an increasing demand for potential candidates in terms of their both qualified education and good morals and ethics as a requirement of most jobs in modern society. Additionally, the difficulties that former prisoners face are compounded by the shadow of their criminal past due to social stigma, discrimination and prejudice that they can follow the beaten track.For example, according to a report of Vietnam express, it was conducted over 10000 citizens in 2017, almost 90 percent of them had not advocated the idea of employing a person who was an offender as they want to avoid serious threats or potential dangers in their home or at their workplace. Henceforth, this would be a significant impediment for ex-convicts to be in search for a stable job and start rebuilding his/her life after previous incarceration since employers are reluctant to hire a person with a criminal record.

A possible solution for this problem would be a law to protect the ex-criminals.Specifically, it is necessary that legislative protections for for former offenders should be warranted with greater employment opportunities and healthy working environment without discrimination in which fellow workers can be encouraged to work in harmony and share each other’s experience, knowledge and common interests. Besides, the employers can create a good-faith working environment in the hope that these golden opportunities can reform more good-hearted, open-minded, well-informed citizens at the workplace and community instead of back in prison.

In conclusion, unemployment seem to be on of the strongest predictors of recidivism. Henceforth, to tackle this phenomenon, it is the responsibility of government to create a healthy working environment without discrimination and prejudice for the possibility of social reintegration and individual reformation of each ex-offender.