Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films.

Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that an increasing number of viewers are choosing to watch foreign movies rather than nationally manufatured films. This shift of choice could be attributed to a variety of factors and I believe that higher expenditure should be allocated to local film industries to reverse this current trend.

To begin with, there are several factors that lead to the public preference for foreign films. Firstly, these films offer viewers a fresh and exciting experience that can be a break from the repetitive motifs and limited genres of locally produced movies. Secondly, films from other nations are, on the whole, of higher quality than their local counterparts. Many film projects in America, for instance, receive generous budgets from the sponsors and are runned with the help of experienced directors, talented actors and skilled editors, which contributes to their outstanding quality. Finally, foreign movies have generally more effective marketing strategies, with colourful posters, appealing trailers and star-studded casts making these films more attractive to cinema-goers.

In my opinion, governments should offer more financial assistance to local film projects. If receiving more funds, these projects would have more money to invest in the casting, shooting and editing processes. Thus, the quality of many local films would be tremendously enhanced, enabling them to compete successfully with their foreign rivals. When local movies regain their popularity, their proceeds will consequently rise, which contributes to the growth and expansion of the domestic motion picture industry. This success is not only a source of national pride but it also encourages many young directors and editors to contribute their talents to local film industries.

In conclusion, there are various reasons why foreign movies have gained more popularity than those produced domestically, and I concur with the view that a greater proportion of government budgets should be allocated to national film projects.