Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

In recent years, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the idea that a large number of pupils decide to have a break before commencing tertiary education due to traveling or acquiring hands-on experience. I am in favor of the view that this is effective for several reasons.

In terms of youngster’s future occupation, the young stands a good chance of gaining practical experience and exposure. This can be explained by the fact that nowadays, many teenagers graduate from secondary school without having apparent intentions in their minds. Hence, partaking in work experience programs or doing part-time jobs before carrying out university would be capable of broadening their horizon on major options and know their potentials. This can help them understand their aptitude and dexterity to make wise decisions related to their career. An exemplary case can be illustrated by taking a look at Lisa, who spent her gap year teaching English at Algeria. She gave a lecture and take care of local impoverished children. Catching the sight of this lofty deed to the plight of the destitute, several newspapers were written about her, which appeal thousands of readers.

Concerning personal evolving, a gap year does wonder for high-school students’ development and cultivate their interpersonal skills such as soft skill, social skill and the like. For instance, during the working process, school-age children will probably communicate with colleagues who have cultural, racial, age differences. Therefore, it is viable to enhance their self-confidence, independence, flexibility, profitable skill and establish a solid social network.

In conclusion, my perspective that taking a year off is beneficial to young generations regarding future employment and individual progress.