Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

After their high school graduation, a majority of students decide to take a break in their education in order to do some traveling or obtain work skills, before enrolling in tertiary education. In my opinion, their choice is actually sensible, because not only can it relieve their minds from studying but the collected hands-on experience can assist them in the long term.

First, it is crucial for students to take a gap year from high school to enjoy their lives since it can help relieve stress accumulated from years of obtaining knowledge. Taking a year off from school provides their brains time to organize and store information collected from three years of intense studying. This can promote better memory as the mind has extra space for new knowledge. Traveling is the best way for the brain to relax, as students enjoy beautiful sceneries and diverse cultures. In fact, they can learn as much stuff traveling as learning in higher education.

Secondly, it is not a waste of time if university undergraduates gather practical work skills. As a matter of fact, students who take on apprenticeships in professional jobs during their gap year can gather more real-life experiences than studying from books. After all, students will have to find a job post-graduation. However, companies nowadays prefer candidates who have more practical skills and achievements. Therefore, those who take that gap year are more likely to be selected.

At the end of the day, due to the benefits of better brain capacity as well as today’s demand for pragmatically experienced employees, it is rather sensible for students these days to take a year off.