Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Today, there is an onward trend for students to take a gap from studying after finishing their high school education instead of getting admission at university. In my opinion, such a break has several pros and cons, which are both elaborated further in the following paragraphs.

Regarding the benefits, it is evident that travelling enables student to broaden their view of the world. As one roams around the world, they gain the approach to diverse cultures and new people, therefore, become a multilingual person. Moreover, students can decide to whether apply for a part-time job or relax. Both choices offer pupils time to determine their future. In other words, they can perceive the jobs as an opportunity to enhance their understanding of businesses and finances as well as their options for further study.

Despite the betterments, there are repercussions for such view. First and foremost, students lose momentum when not constantly focusing on their tuition. In detail, it is possible that a learner would be unable to memorize all the information learned from high school. Consequently, they would suffer from perceiving knowledge from the new curriculum while pursuing their degree education. Furthermore, a precise plan is required for such a gap, and in the situation when one cannot follow the objective, stress would become an ongoing issue.

To sum up, it can be concluded that each aspect has its own advantages and disadvantages. It is a fair idea to take a break to find their own specialty before choosing a course at the university; however, without perfect planning, they might lose focus from their study as well as job.