Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.

To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

Copyright is the legal right to control the production and selling of a book, play, film or piece of music. However, a substantial proportion of people can download copyrighted books and music from the Internet for free. In my opinion, in spite of this is certainly a positive trend, but it has a few negative aspects.

By downloading copyrighted books and music free of charge, a large number of individuals have the chance not only to acquire encyclopedic knowledge but also to feel absolutely delighted. This is due to the virtual treasure trove of information on the Internet, so a considerable number of books and a large amount of music can be found online and downloaded easily. Therefore, all strata of society have an equal chance to become literate. For example, several families barely live at subsistence level, and they cannot afford to buy a book. Thus, an access to the Internet is enough in order to have a free acquaintance with science, mathematics or history.

On the negative side, notwithstanding the benefits, the drawbacks cannot be overlooked, which pose a credible threat to authors. One of the main disadvantages is the copyright infringement. To enumerate, when individuals download music or books without paying, they are breaking the law. As a result, they are subject themselves to legal liabilities. Moreover, incurred heavy losses are deemed as an adverse impact of downloading copyrighted music and books for no charge. Both publishing houses and music industry entirely relying on sales of records and books respectively. Accordingly, books writers and music composers will be discouraged to proceed in their works.

In conclusion, while this activity has undoubted benefits, of which disseminate knowledge is the most apparent, it has also some downsides also, most notably is the breach of copyright. Hence, I think this activity seems a quite positive development.