More and more people are busy with work and do not have enough time to spend with their

families and friends. Why does this happen? What are the effects on family and society as a

whole.

Recent decades witnessed a steep rise in the proportion of individuals overloaded with work, reducing the amount of time spent for family and friends. Given that this pattern could be attributed to many social factors, the impacts associated with family and society could be pronounced.

There are many reasons leading to this trend. First, career prospects with high possibilities of bigger promotion could be conducive to individuals’ higher level of work commitment and dedication, thereby leading the decrease in the amount of time for family as well as friends. Second, the pressure from employers forces people to devote time to finish the allocated work ahead of the deadline, minimising the time for other personal activities. Otherwise, the likelihood of docking payment or even dismissal is inevitable.

Nonetheless, it should be acknowledged that this patten could be fraught with many pitfalls pertaining to families and society. First, spending less time for a family could culminate in the misunderstanding and internal conflicts between family members. Therefore this could deteriorate the family bonding, pushing parents to the verge of divorce. In addition, overloaded with work could be instrumental in some mental disorders from stress and frustration, acting as a deterrent for couples from embracing parenthood. This would adversely affect the future workforce stemming from the lack of young population, fueling the economic downturn of the country.

In conclusion, this trend could come from many social aspects varying from career prospects and employers’ pressure. Additionally, people should undertake some initiatives to guarantee the work-life balance for the sake of family and themselves overall.