More and more people have pets in their homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having pets ?

It is true that the number of household pets has been increasing dramatically in recent years. While producing numerous benefits, this trend also brings some potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, keeping domestic pets could benefits both owners and pets themself. There is no point in denying that pet animals’ loyalty and characteristic have the healing power, which could relieve stress and bring great happiness for pet owners, especially those who always caught up in their own work and study. Therefore, adopting pets in house is becoming increasingly prevalent in the hustle and bustle in the new era. Besides, raising pets also stand them in good stead due to the fact that pet animals like cats and dogs are less likely to survive on their own in the natural environment, where they have to encounter the difficulties and hazards without any helps from human beings. Consequently, if they are forced to live in the wild environment, then they would easily suffer from diseases or even die unexpectedly.

On the other hand, apart from these above – mentioned benefits, adopting household pets also place those animals and owners at a disadvantage. Firstly, it comes with no surprise that animal themselves could bring many viruses or bacterial diseases, which could harm their owners seriously. Toxoplasmosis, for example, is the disease caused by parasite called toxoplasma gondii, which has been found in warm-blood animals like cats and other pets. Therefore, people could become badly infected if they live together with their beloved pets for the long time. Secondly, many individuals raise pets for wrong reasons such as status symbol or for profit, which could affect negatively household pets because owners themselves could abondon their pets whenever they feel unnecessary to feed them and leave them in the wild environment regardless of many terrible dangers their pets have to face such as traffic accidents with pets or the lack of food and clean water.

In conclusion, raising domestic pets, which is the growing trend nowadays, has benefits and drawbacks for both animals and owners themselves.