More and more people want to buy famous brands with clothes, car and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Increased consumption of prestigious brand items have been sparking significant public controversy in recent decades, raising questions of their essentiality. Despite such contention, I think this consumer pattern could have both benefits and drawbacks.

There are many reasons for people’s tendency to purchase items from famous brands. First, since expenditure on luxury brands could be associated with high socio-economic standing, individuals consuming such commodities would be highly respected and revered by the society, leading to easier social integration and interaction. For example, in many educational institutions, schoolers with groovy apparel with famous labels are proved to make friends easier than counterparts with less recognizable ones, who are considered “unsophisticated and provincial” and could be susceptible to severe peer pressure and boycotting or even physical abuses from others. However, items from luxury brands are usually manufactured with internationally standardized production line and hand picked raw materials followed by sophisticated craftmanship, guaranteeing their sustainable functionality and artistry for users, fueling into booming consumption worldwide.

This consumer dynamic could be fraught with pitfalls but simultaneously bestow advantages. From the societal perspective, if individuals especially those with sub par purchasing powers and limited financial capacities could not have access to these prestigious labels, their personal representations and self-identity towards society could be oppressed and badly wounded as they feel inhibited and socially marginalized for not conforming to the self-imposed social norms. This means that mental impairments resulting in inadequate self-confidence could be inevitable products, increasing the vulnerability to some critical psychological conditions such as social anxiety or even depression. In contrast, from the economic perspective, by having ramped up offshoring investments in developing nations in recent years, some prestigious brand corporations have created a great number of occupational opportunities for locals, outfitting them with vocational training for different job specifications, ensuring stable financial resources for those who used to be exposed to severe poverty in the past.

In conclusion, there are reasons related to social status and products’ quality feeding into the rise in this consumption trend. Additionally, this trend could both lead to some negative mental impacts on users but have significant economic benefits at the same time.