Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being serf-employed?

In the contemporary society, an increasing number of people have chosen to become freelancers instead of working for others. This could be due to the freedom that comes with self-employment together with the fact that there is no fixed work time. While this might be true, there are some cons to this way of working which will be discussed in the following essay.

Individuals can opt to become self-employed for a number of reasons. Firstly, they do not have to be bound by office working hours and stress over salary deduction on being late. In fact, they can not only work flexibly at their own time, but also give time to their family and take vacations wherever they need one. Secondly, these freelancers do not have to abide by any customs or rules, such as wearing uniforms, wear pumps instead of sneakers, no flashy jewelries etc. Subsequently, the independent workers can earn more than an average worker earns annually.

However, there are several drawbacks of working on your own. After a certain period, a sense of isolation creeps over and work feels monotonous, as there is no team member to gossip with; whereas in an office environment team member take occasional break from work to talk to one another. In addition, personal growth is either slow or diminished as there is no discussions related to work or exchange of ideas on a certain issue which happens in abundance among team members.

To sum up, although there is no restrictions as a freelancer which is usually found in formal environments, such as a company or organization, but the cons that tags along are also noteworthy.