Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

The job market is becoming more and more competitive environment as the elderly seeking for jobs are filling applicants from young generations for the same positions. This phenomenon creates some detrimental impacts on national stabilization in terms of economy and citizens’ well-being. The essay will provide some mandatory remedies to the problem.

There are a variety of negative consequences when it comes to the competition between young and old job applicants. Firstly, young people having to compete with old people, who have spent many years accumulating experience, are imposed the possibility of losing their opportunity for their dream job. This will consequently heightens the unemployment rate, causing social unrest and crime escalation. Secondly, if old job seekers cannot compete with their descendants in certain fields that requires versatility and creativity such as marketing or sales, they might fail to get the job. Without adequate financial means to foster their family and themselves, elderly people might have to live in poverty.

The government should implement some immediate actions to confront with this phenomenon. New policies should be established in order to provide appropriate social welfare, including old-aged pensions and medical healthcare, so that they can live comfortably when they retire. Another effective solution is to modify retirement age over citizens who is unemployed. This will reduce the competition for the same jobs between the young and the old and empower and increase chance for young people to get their wanted position.

In conclusion, the mentioned competition could produce undesirably issues to both patterns of working aged population, the government certainly play a tremendous role in tackling the situation.