Nowadays, most large companies operate multinationally. To what
extent those companies should have responsibility towards local
communities in which they operate?
In recent decades, there has been growing trend of offshore expansion
by large companies, thanks to globalization. Although multinational
corporations create jobs for local people, their responsibility towards
local communities should be at the highest level.
It is true that responsible corporate behavior contributes to broad-based
benefits for the countries in which the companies are active. First, foreign
companies should be responsible towards the environment of the region.
For example, if these companies take steps to dispose of waste properly,
local people can enjoy new products without any concern for the
environment. Second, multinational companies should be more active in
charitable activities because that would give them an opportunity to save
more lives overseas. In fact, many regions in which these companies
operate do not have access to resources to deal with problems like
hunger and poverty.
Another compelling reason is that foreign companies can substantially
benefit from being socially responsible. Companies, especially in the
manufacturing and mining industries, actively protecting the
environment, can ensure their sustainable long-term growth. In fact, the
media has revealed many instances of companies being taken away
social license due to the imprudence towards the environment. In
addition, multinational corporations should be very conscious of their
track records when it comes to local responsibility as these are directly
tied to brand names. If brand names are properly maintained and
enhanced, sales and profits will be poised to increase as companies will
be receiving more support from both local customers and government.
In conclusion, the bar for corporate responsibilities towards local
communities should always be high. This benefits not only the countries
in which companies operate but the companies themselves.