Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

There has been a major concern that the number of young people who apply to science classes in universities is decreasing in many countries around the world. Some explanations for this problems will be put forward, before an analysis of its impact on society.

There are several reasons why young people do not want to choose science as their major in their universities. First, the syllabus of science class makes the incredible pressure for young people. For example, youngsters who follow the science curriculums in Viet Nam are required to complete a lot of essays, tasks, research,… and they have to devote almost their time in labs for essential experiments. Furthermore, science experiments cost students a great deal of money. For instance, when young people need to implement some science chemistry experiments, they have to spend their money preparing laboratory instruments such as chemical substances, test tubes.

Not enough students for science curriculums causes some effects on society. Firstly, the number of students are trained that is not enough for the demands of research tasks.This may lead to the stagnation of science research. Secondly, the number of youngsters are not enough for science class that is the main major interrupt the science courses. For example, if the number of students is needed to start one science class is 15 people, this course not to be opened until at least 15 young people apply for this class.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the decrease in the number of science students and this causes some negative effects on society.