Nowadays parents are sending their children to trips abroad for educational purposes.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is widely acknowledged that the number of children taken or sent to other countries for a short-term, with the aim of expanding their knowledge, is increasing more and more. In this essay, an attempt will be made to discuss the merits and demerits of this phenomenon.

To begin with, the first advantage of sending children to another country is that they can expand their knowledge. To put it another way, they will have to spend all their time learning the culture of this country, the manners, the language and so on. That gives them a lo of chances to be successful when working in their future. Take my brother as an example. After five years studying abroad, now he has become a rich entrepreneur. He has a profound knowledge about the various customs of different countries, which is very convenient when working with foreigners. Therefore, studying in other countries certainly has a positive impact on the education of children.

However, on the other hand, there is also an obvious disadvantage of this phenomenon. This is because children can’t have enough care and protection of their parents. In other words, they will feel overwhelmed and insecure when they stress with their studies or when they can’t get on well with the people around them. That can cause them to make some wrong decisions, which are dangerous with their physical health. A clear example is Zhika Liu, who was born in China and went to Australia for his education. After only three months studying in Australia, he jumped from the 21st floor and died at that moment. Consequently, it is clear that being sent to other countries can cause a lot of negative thoughts for children.

In conclusion, this phenomenon could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.