Nowadays some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works by using the computer Do you agree or disagree

We live in the age of computer and Information Technology and with the tap of the finger, we can get virtually any information we need. The recent 3D presentations and the 360-degree views of museums, art galleries, streets, oceans, hills and virtually any place of the world are quite fascinating. This fire up the debate whether we really need to have public places like museum, art galleries or establishments like these as people can easily view and know about historic objects and artworks using a computer. Personally, I quite disagree with the given notion and believe that online information can never replace the needs of having real museums and art galleries.

First of all, only when we have museums, art galleries, exhibitions, or collection of historic objects and artworks, we can present them online. Without the existence of museums and galleries, online collection of historic objects or works would never have existed. Second, museums and art galleries preserve the real objects while online presentation has nothing to do with preserving those invaluable works and objects. Moreover, museums and galleries are maintained by a group of experts who knows which objects or works are historically important and decide to preserve them. On the contrary, websites and online resources are often run by ordinary people and maintaining online authenticity is not always possible.

Again, museums and art galleries offer firsthand experience to the audiences and viewers and represent the history, tradition and important artworks of a country. The computer-based information of an important historic work or object can never do the same. Online information about any particular artwork or historic object is a great way to learn about it but it can never be compared with the human experience of observing them personally.

Finally, museums and art galleries have great attractions among tourists and their online version can never actually generate a huge revenue that a real museums or art gallery would do. Children of schools might enjoy learning about arts, history etc online but unless they personally witness those, they will never become enthusiastic about history and art.

In conclusion, online presentation of historic places and artworks is a good way of letting people learn more about them but it is quite unrealistic that they would replace the real establishment of museums or art galleries around the world