In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Discuss both these vi

It is argued by many that, the government should spent more money on building railway lines connecting suburbs, while there are others who are of the view that, this budget should be spent on existing transport facilities. I find it more logical to endorse the latter view, the reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay after discussing both the views.

Firstly, one of the main reason why people support the prior viewpoint is that, tranin journeys are faster and more convenient then their counterparts. Today, trains only need a couple of hours to travel from one place to another, and also trains journeys provide people more comfort than the other means of transport. To travel long distances people only need to take a ticket and the train will take them to their destination without much delays. For example, bullet trains in Japan travels at a speed of 300 km/h and due to this, people prefer trains more. This is the main reson behind thr positive attitude of people towards trains.

On the other hand, I believe that this money slukdmeb spent on existing public transport facilities. This is mainly because, by improving the current transport system, traffic congestion will reduce to a great extent. Nowadays, in many countries, most of thr roads are packed full with private and public vehicles and as a result traffic congestion is inevitable. But, this issues can be ameliorated if the government decides to improve their public transport system and by doing this people will feel more comfortable to use these facilities. For instance, after the remodelling of the Swedish public transport system, the traffic congestion in many cities declined.

In conclusion, although spending money on rail networks can have some benefits, I believe that this is unnecessary, because improving existing public transport facilities are more convenient and effective.