In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport

Disucss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a widespread belief that it is a good idea to uplift expenditures on building more new railway stations, which lets people to move fast from country to another one readily enough. It is often argued that this is a positive development, whereas some people hold the opinion that it is more preferable to invest more money on expanding and upgrading current public transport. It is agreed that an increase spending on public transport is more beneficial for many citizens. This essay will discuss both points of view before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

It is clear that the public transportation is one of the most convenient and cheapest at the present time that allows individuals to reach their destination readily, even in bustling cities. Moreover, public transport that includes: buses, underground as well as trams are operated in all corners of cities, making people's journey's shorter which in turn, helps them to get their work on time. It is therefore a greed that expanding public transport is more worthwhile by investing more money rather than constructing new railway lines. Moscow is a prime example, where the demands for railway are less than any country because its authorities contribute more on extending public transportation's routes and improving the quality of these transports.

However, many disagree and feel that these excessive quantity of expanses on enhancing public transportation is likely to rise some issues such as: increasing the level of fumes, pollution of air, water and so on. Therefore, some authorities prefer invest a great amount of money on building additional railway lines because it is considered that this mode of transportation is environmentally friendly and it does not emit any harmful substances that might be dangerous to surrounding area. Yet, it is worth to take into account, not all terrains are suitable to lay and construct new lines, but in case if there were appropriate places to build, so it might require either chop down too much trees or demolish some recreational areas, particularly beside the countryside in order to construct these lines.

By a way of conclusion, while the benefits of investing more money on transportation, mainly public transports allow citizens to move faster, some still feel that this spending ought to be invested on constructing new railway lines rather than on other modes of transport. As far as, building these lines might demand huge destructions, thus spending money on public transportation is clearly positive.