The number of older people is increasing in many parts of the world. What are the effects of this on society as a whole?  What are the advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

Old people play a significant role in terms of experience, culture, tradition and so on, which are very imperative for someone to be successful. However, some concede that proportion of old people is augmenting at a rapid pace, which may result various aftermaths on the society. Thus, I am going to put forth the effects and the associated results of it.

To begin with, old people act as a bridge to connect today's world with the past, but there may be certain problems, which may arise due to growth in the number of old people on account of plethora reasons. Firstly, more number of older people signify decline in mortality rate and higher consumption of resources, which in turn ultimately constitutes the disbalance in the resources, which in not favorable for any nation's growth. On the top of that, young people who are of full of energy and creativity may face the predicament of getting job opportunities, because of the indulgence of older people in such jobs, and hence it can amount to a source of disappointment for them. For instance, it has been found in many surveys that countries like India, which has around 65 percent of the population under 35 years of age, if such youth power will be utilized in an optimum way, then the country can prosper in a dramatic way.

On the other hand, former view of statement carries both sides, positive and negative sides. Firstly, there are certain professions, where experience determines success such as teaching, researching and so on, consequently there old people can set a paradigm. However, augmentation in older people can result huge burden not only for any nation, but for people as well, as they occupy places in some form or other, correspondingly not fruitful. In addition, people sometimes confront problems in looking after them, as old people remain physically vulnerable and need personal attention of family members, which can be an another ramification.

To conclude, I reckon old people are true asset for any nation and society, and people can learn myriad things from old people, which they can never learn from books. Here, advantages mostly outweigh disadvantages.