One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

According to Moyers, development is the unidirectional growth of a single celled organism into multicellular terminating into death. Thus, death is inevitable to anyone born, but each and everyone of us strives to live a fulfilling life. in this effort we become addicted to living, to family, our friends and we want to postpone the imminent as long as possible. Medical care was basically improved with this as one of the sole purposes. And accordingly, the life expectancy has dramatically increased over a last few decades.

People, as they age, with their experiences become wise and can guide the younger generations better. Scientific progress can be done with the failures and experiences of the elder as guidance. Grandchildren will not be left with caretakers as their parents work, because they will have their grandparents to love care ad nurture them. The ailing will no doubt be relieved and the loss and heartbreak of losing a beloved one will be reduced. Soulmates can revel in the togetherness for a little while longer. The heritage will not just be in the family tress but could be seen, heard and talked to. family's would come together for the special occasions and the bond between them would strengthen. This fraternity would inspire everyone and a sense of unity will be forged. The bountiful love will no doubt make this planet a better place.

But as with every progress their are cons along with the pros. The increasing life expectancy with advance medical care, obviously proves a curse to those unlucky few, who do not age as gracefully as many of us others. A moribund patient is sometimes kept alive just due to understanding desperation of the family. Such patients are sometime subjected to undue pain with intravenous injections when some of the organs could be well be donated to the one with irrepairable damage due to any adversities. No doubt the elder generations think through for us on many occasions, but sometimes old habits are hard to die. Their well meaning advice may be perceived as nosing around or are sometimes genuienly outdated for the coming of age people. such are the times when the old should know when their prowess has finished and should gracefully retire. if the do not retire on their own and continue to exert their authority when it no longer relevant, it will result in stumping of the new ideas, hampering renaissance of the modern age. In case of patients who fall in category four of association of anaesthetologists, euthanasuia is the boon.

So yes, the company of our elders is no doubt enjoyable and one that we all yearn for, but the ailments accompanying must also be taken care of competently. Otherwise the increasing age will be nothing more than a nuisiance.