In the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students in a classroom. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach in teaching?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Today, technology has instigated a litany of furtherance in many fields, including education. While modern advances aid teaching significantly, innovative permutations, generally, pose latent threats, which raise parents’ concern over their children’s studies. Regardless of those associated risks, I believe that modern equipment’s benefits overshadow its drawbacks.

One of the most conspicuous merits that technology provides is that it can convey lessons through more vivid pictorials and interactive designations that can pique students’ interests. To illustrate, Powerpoint, an application specializing in enlivening all the rigid contents in the textbooks for students, has received positive responses from customers as it helps grasp their subjects’ attention. Moreover, pupils can delve more profoundly into their planned syllabus: if they fail to comprehend the lessons at school, they can clarify them at home through Google or contacting online with their professors without having to make an appointment in advance like in the past. In addition, this bonus helps students interact with their teachers more frequently, catalyzing more informal and intimate conversations and bridging the gap of preceptor- listener.

However, nothing is impeccable; neither is this new approach. On account of its side effects, students’ ability to read is negatively affected since they become more engaged in digitized platforms. A study in Cambridge shows that the number of people reading books underwent a slash, which later eventuated in their academic level not being on par with the previous generations’. Furthermore, youngsters may get access to objectionable and unhealthy data without anyone’s supervision- this can wreak havoc in their perceptions and escalate the urge to catch up with toxic trends on the Internet. Yet, adults can terminate this phenomenon as long as they keep their students/ children carefully under their tutelage.

To conclude, the new methods of teaching benefit teachers as students get more proactive in their learning process in case it is utilized right. However, if we let it involve too deep in our life, some lurking threats will start to menace us and lead to untoward consequences.