In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves?

Sports play a pivotal role in keeping good health. Undoubtedly, sports personality earns a lot of money, no matter they won or loose. Moreover, nowadays, a sportsman plays for monetary benefits compared to the earlier days, where main objective was either to set a world record or win a match for a country. In the below essay, I will try to enunciate the consequences and adverse effects of this increasing trends.

To begin some people hold the opinion that, nowadays, every sports person knows this fact that, if they are representing their country in any of the difficult sports, they will get the monetary benefits as country would spend lots of money as well pay them hefty salary for their participation in a game, especially those games for which players are not easily available or are less trained. For example a game of ice hockey which is normally famous in certain parts of the world. No doubt, because of this fact, players are not playing to set a record or to win a game, however; they just participate for the sake of participation. In addition, if a player is a key player of a team, then they will earn more money compared to other players in a team. For example, a sport personality is all rounder in a game of a cricket; he may earn a huge amount by endorsing or doing an advertisement for famous brands. This not only creates imbalance in a team but also envy between the players, if other players are not earning that much.

Indubitably, watching these players earning so much in such a short span, all the younger players may follow their footsteps or they would copy the lifestyle of their role models. In case, if companies do not provide them money for endorsing their products due to their less experience or fame, they may take other methods to earn faster money. For instances, either fixing a game or start taking bribes for losing a match. This is already being started in some of the famous games such as cricket and football where players take money from bookies to lose a game.

All these negative trends not only have adverse effects on the players but even to the audiences as well. For example, audience might start losing the interest in a game, if they come to know the result before the actual game.

To recapitulate, each individual player should play for the records and should win a game for the pride of their country instead of only focusing on the monetary benefits, otherwise in the coming day the actual spirit of a game would be lost and no country will produce the real sportsman.