People are living longer than ever before. At the same time, the young population is declining while the number of old people is rising. Will this development be a benefit for the society? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more old people in the country?

The average human lifecycle is expanded and which is expected to see 100 years. Comparatively, the child birth rate is decreasing whereas the elderly population is increasing. The longevity will be beneficial for the public since people would enjoy more with their family, but the declining the population of youth can be the serious issue and which will result an elderly country. This will create various governmental spending such as pension, retirement, and health care entitlements whereas the more elders in the country can expect of lower crime rates and the possibilities of tighten the family relationships. However, I believe that the taxes and entitlements to support for elders outweigh the advantages.

As the society develops and the relevant fields are developing, the result of those is the longevity. It is common that human’s average lifecycle is up to 100 years and this means the people can enjoy more being with families and friends. Therefore, the longevity can result in more family and friends times.

Due to this longevity, the elderly population is growing in compared to the decreasing of youth population and which will result in elderly countries. If the country is became a full with elders, the amount of government spending will be endless and which means that the governmental budget will be suffering from deficit. Since the old people required many services and entitlements such as pension, retirement and health care, the government may not be able to provide all those entitlement at the end due to the deficit.

However, the more elders in a country can have several advantages. Firstly, there will be lower crime rates. Since elders have lack of ambitions, grudge and energies to commit any crimes, so that the country will have free of crimes. Moreover, the family relationship will be in depth. Since older people have wisdom and life skills, which can be used to handle children and that can enhance the family relationships. Therefore, having elders in a country seems necessary.

Despite all these benefits, in my perspective, the financial burden is more serious than that of benefits. Also, the government deficit account will pressure onto young people in terms of tax and that can result in decrease in childbirth rates. In other words, the governmental financial burden will make the situation the worse. Therefore, it is vital to solve the elderly country issues.

In conclusion, longevity can create the happiness and enjoyable time being with families and friends for a long time as much as 100 years. However, the childbirth rates are decreasing due to the longevity, because the government has pressuring the young people in terms of tax to support the elders.