People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example,

new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge).

Why do you think people attend college or university?

The past 50 years have seen a considerable increase in the number of high school graduates attending university or college. In this essay, I intend to examine the reasons associated to this trend. Three of the primary reasons are as follows.

One point that I think to be absolutely pivotal is that university graduates place more profound impression on recruiters than ones who just finish high school. Nowadays, academic qualification is one of the major factors required by employers. Applications of candidates with Bachelor’s degree or higher education may draw more attention of job seekers and these applicants are more likely to achieve the position that they applied for.

Equally importantly, though, going to university offers young people an opportunity for career preparation. During the undergraduate course, students are theoretically prepared and fully equipped with skills and knowledge which serve the future career. They are also provided with a period of probation to get used to and obtain a real insight into a specific job. By this way, they are also able to enrich their knowledge and broaden their horizons.

Last but not least, it is undeniable fact that university life assists young adults in gaining real world experience. Entering university or college means that they are in a totally unfamiliar environment, no longer surrounded by friends who share ups and downs but people from all walks of life and all parts of country. They may be in a state of shock; they, however, after this stage, being with people who share the same interests and dreams, gradually, may motivate them to be on track and achieve long-term success. Moreover, students may build their independent nature during their university life. Some have to separate from their family and move to another city for study. As result, they have to learn to manage on their own, take care of themselves and make their own decisions without their beloved family members always nearby, although they may struggle to adapt in the first instance.

By the way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm that there are various reasons why people choose to enter university and three aspects mentioned above contributes to the key factors causing this phenomenon.