People say that the main environmental problem of our time is loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that their are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both sides and give a concluding view.

In recent times, human existence has been threatened by a plethora of climatic crises. But which one of this crises should be considered more significant? While some argue that loss of biodiversity is a more crucial eco-unfriendly disaster, others however claim that issues such as global warming, air pollution and water pollution are more threatening. This essay will discuss both views and give an opinion subsequently.

To start with, the population of plant and animal species are declining with the speed of light, and this is bothersome to all and sundry. This sheer fact perhaps, is the reason why proponents of the view that loss of biodiversity is a more sinister climatic mishap have maintained their stand over the years. They cited the pernicious effects of human activities such as deforestation, over fishing and excessive use of fertilizers and herbicides for farming, as the culprits of this trend. As a result of the dwindling flora and fauna lives, human life have been negatively affected since we depend on the atmospheric carbon dioxide mopping effect of these plants as well as the dietary benefits of both the plants and animal species for survival.

On the other hand, opponents of the claim that the loss of plants and animal species weigh more than other ecological problems , believe that more threatening disasters abound. To buttress their point, they affirmed that issues like global warming, air pollution and water pollution rank higher than loss of biodiversity. According to the United Nation health statistics, the ever increasing global temperature has increased the incidence of conditions such as heat stroke and heat exhaustion in tropical countries. Also, the spewing into the air, microscopic dust and soot from power plants, tail pipes and wildfires is an invisible killer. For example, in a survey done in 2019 by the Environmental Protection Agency in Accra Ghana, more than 30,000 deaths in a single year was attributed to air pollution.

In conclusion, regardless of the contrasting opinions , all the above mentioned climatic disasters are inimical to human existence. I opine that they are all equally significant. If their impacts are seen as commensurable, it would eliminate the bias that could arise in choosing which one of them is to be tackled or ignored.