People think that countries should produce foods that their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that countries should produce their own food for their citizens and reduce the amount of food that is imported. Personally, I totally agree with this point of view.

There are several reasons why a country should produce its own food for its population, one of which is the creation of more jobs. When the demand for domestically produced food grows within a country, there will be more job opportunities available for local people in farming and food processing industries, leading to a reduction in unemployment rates. Secondly, it may be easier to control food quality when it is produced domestically, as authorities can easily monitor farms and food processing plants, in order to maintain safe, hygienic food standards.

Additionally, food imports should be reduced due to a number of reasons. Firstly, putting barriers on importing food can help to boost a country’s economy by eliminating the competition that local companies face with foreign products, allowing them to be more profitable and contribute to the national economy. Furthermore, food importation can have negative environmental impacts due to the large amounts of carbon emissions released from the transportation of products all around the world via planes, trucks, and ships. By reducing food imports, countries can play their part in helping to protect the environment, rather than contributing to environmental issues such as climate change.

In conclusion, I believe that each country should invest in the development of its agricultural industry to provide food for the population itself, and import as little as possible.